skip to content

Scholarly Communication


The General Board has established an Open Access Project Board to manage the transition to Open Access

The Open Access Project Board has adopted the Open Access Policy Framework

Membership of the Open Access Project Board (as of March 2015)

Professor Lynn Gladden, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research (Chair)

Professor Steve Young, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Planning and Resources

Professor Graham Virgo, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Education

Professor Peter Mandler, School of the Humanities and Social Sciences

Professor Richard Prager, Head of the School of Technology

Professor John Danesh, School of Clinical Medicine

Professor Duncan Maskell, Head of the School of Biological Sciences

Professor Rob Kennicutt, Head of the School of Physical Sciences

Dr Nicholas White, School of Arts and Humanities

Mrs Anne Jarvis, University Librarian

Dr Peter Hedges, Head of the University Research Office

Dr Danny Kingsley, Head of Scholarly Communications, UL

Dr Martin Bellamy, Director of UIS

Dr Ralph Ecclestone, REF Manager

Dr Gill Rands, Research Strategy Manager (Secretary)


If you have questions please email us at

To obtain advice on open access options, request payment of open access charges or deposit an accepted manuscript in the institutional repository, please enter your  publication details at