skip to content

Scholarly Communication


The Open Research Steering Committee (ORSC) was established by the General Board in January 2019 to replace the Open Access Project Board, following a recommendation by the Open Research Working Group

Membership of the Open Research Steering Committee

Last updated September 2021

Professor Steve Russell, Acting Head of Department of Genetics, (Chair)

Professor Holger Babinsky, Head of Energy, Fluid Mechanics and Turbomachinery, School of Technology

Dr Marta Costa, Senior Research Associate, Department of Zoology

Professor Stephen Eglen, Professor of Computational Neuroscience, School of Physical Sciences

Dr Jessica Gardner, University Librarian and Director of Library Services

Dr Emma Gilby, Reader in Early Modern French Literature and Thought, School of Arts and Humanities

Dr Peter Hedges, Head of the University Research Office

Dr Sara Hennessy, Reader in Teacher Development and Pedagogical Innovation, School of the Humanities and Social Sciences

Mandy Hill, Director of Academic Publishing, Cambridge University Press

Patricia Killiard, Senior Deputy Director (Academic Services), Cambridge University Libraries

Professor Ian Leslie, Director of University Information Services

Dr Amy Orben, College Research Fellow, Emmanuel College

Professor David Owen, Professor of Structural and Molecular Biology, School of Clinical Medicine

Dr Siddharth Soni, Isaac Newton Trust Fellow, Cambridge Digital Humanities

Dr Ben Steventon, School of Biological Sciences

Niamh Tumelty, Head of Open Research Services, Cambridge University Libraries

Dr Debbie Hansen, Office of Scholarly Communication, (Secretary)

Terms of Reference

Last updated November 2020

  1. To set the strategic direction for activities in support of Open Research within the University.
  2. To promote and keep under review all matters relating to Open Research at the University, including effective implementation of the University’s policies on Open Access and Research Data Management; compliance with external mandates; overview of best practice.
  3. To ensure and facilitate close working of all internal services supporting Open Research.
  4. To make recommendations to the Information Systems Committee on investment to support Open Research, and to monitor rolling five-year plans, acting as first point of resolution for resource issues.
  5. To formalise and oversee University public communications around Open Research, including, at least, annual review of the University position statement on Open Research, and to monitor development of external policy frameworks. This will include managing responses to sector-wide consultations.


The Steering Committee will normally meet twice in each academic year, with communication between meetings via MS Teams.





If you have questions please email us at

Office of Scholarly Communication (OSC) Newsletter sign-up

Please contact Laura Boxall ( to be added to the mailing list to receive our quarterly e-Newsletter.

The Office of Scholarly Communication sends this Newsletter to its subscribers in order to disseminate information relevant to open access, research data management, scholarly communication and open research topics. For details on how the personal information you enter here is used, please see our privacy policy